Con Kabob.

dsc03838-watermarked

Print available for sale here: http://fandomfoodie.deviantart.com/prints/

Friday at Worldcon 2016, I finally got to try one of those Kabobs sold in the Exhibition hall, and the results were mixed.  Pro: The pork was well-done.  As we covered in the previous day’s review, I like me some smoky crunch with my food.  And it fell apart easily off the skewer.  Plus the tomatoes were well done, and the onions and peppers were so well cooked that there was minimal acidic reaction.  Which is a godsend with all the green tea I drink.  Con:  Being so well done, the fruits and vegetables had next to no flavor.  And I only consider that an improvement on tomatoes.  And the onions were not blackened, or even caramelized.  Just kind of clear.  Plus the meat had no sauce, and the meat fell off the stick in soft solid chunks, not stringy like Barbeque traditionally is.  Still, it’s closer to the Spirit of Kansas City than the Papa John’s in the exhibit hall.  And for curiosity’s sake, I’m glad I tried it.  I’d still rather go somewhere else next time, and taste more of the city.

Leave a comment