Chinese New Year 2024 pledges

30 years ago: Super Street Fighter II Turbo; Darkstalkers; Mortal Kombat II; Muscle Bomber II; Gargoyles; Street Fighter the movie; Street Fighter the cherished movie; King of Fighters debut; 32X.  For “Aggressors of Dark Kombat” and others: https://www.google.com/search?q=Arcade+releases+1994&rlz=1CAHJUL_enUS815&oq=Arcade+releases+1994&aqs=chrome..69i57j0i22i30l2j0i390i512i650l2.12211j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8.  

25 years ago: Street Fighter III: Third Strike; Resident Evil 3; Fatal Fury Wild Ambition; King of Fighters ‘99.  

2 Zodiac Cycles ago: Project Justice; Plasma Sword; King of Fighters 2000.  

Old enough to drink in 50 States: The Buffy the Vampire Series Finale; Catwoman; Ang Lee’s Hulk; Daredevil; X-2.  

20 years ago: Fate/Stay Night debuts; Capcom Fighting All-Stars #canceled; Fireworks Production Studios and CrossGen Comics close their doors; Angel Finale; Blade: Trinity; Spider-Man 2.  

15 years ago: Dance Dance Revolution X; Deadstorm Pirates; Death Smiles II; Deep Sea Treasure by I.C.E. (No nostalgia, but I thought it was funny there was a games developer named “I.C.E.”); X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Astro Boy, Watchmen hit theaters.  

1 Zodiac Cycle Ago: Street Fighter x Tekken; Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom 3; Avengers (first movie); Amazing Spider-Man.  

10 years ago: Ultra Street Fighter IV; AllNew All-Different (I still have literalist objections to that branding) Marvel; Amazing Spider-Man II.  

05 years ago: Avengers: Endgame; Resident Evil 2 (remake); Devil May Cry 5; Mortal Kombat 11; “They Called Us Enemy” comic.  

Last Year: Street Fighter 6; Mortal Kombat 1. 

Before this year’s turn of the cycle: Tekken 8.  Which anniversaries do you think of when you think of 2024? I kept going back to 1994 gaming, but tried to diversify. Please tell me in the comments below.

So, Chinese Lunar New Year.  I had plans for it, covering the Tacoma festivities.  But my traveling companion got the Covid, and at my age that’s really more of a “See with friends” activity.  So I’ll be covering the Seattle festivities (two weeks after that).  In between these two, comes my New Year Resolutions, for this… this Year of the “Dragon,” (of the “wood” cycle.  Let’s be adults).”  

Listed above are 2024 anniversaries.  In multiples of 5, post-1984.  Seeing so many franchises cashing in on old nostalgia, I thought I’d polish off unfinished works relevant to these.  I’m most excited about the window 🪟 I found to make the Midway vs Capcom dream match “Mortal Kombat vs Street Fighter Extended Universe” happen.  The answer may surprise you!  🤗  

My other planned projects are “Mahou Maidens of Marvel (and other hypothetical licensing venues to solve the bankruptcy crisis of the late ‘90’s)”; renewing my series on the missed opportunities of the 32X; 2 possible shake ups within King of Fighters tournaments; a quick reminiscing on the Ultimate Imprint of Marvel; a brief wish list for NON-superhero entrants in the Marvel Vs Capcom series; the missed opportunities of Screenplays to sequential art; a speculative rebuild of Capcom Fighting Evolution (while seeking other ways to save Capcom Fighting All-Stars); looking for how Rival Schools, Star Gladiator and Power Stone could have been carried over into the new century; a rather … ambitious list of unexplored opportunities in the original Street Fighter Movie; an exploration of Neoliberalism (through Nature Girl’s ecoterrorist campaign); reframing the Street Fighter 3 series as the franchise’s 10th anniversary; Wrapping up the Mutant X Episode Listings: … you know what?  I think that’ll be all.  I’ll see about fitting in convention coverage and new photos (and ones not dug up yet in between all this).  See you then.  

Leave a comment